“Mirror, mirror on the wall, who is the fairest of them all?” We all remember this phrase from our beloved Snow White. As a child, I wondered why would the Queen need to ask a magic mirror to tell her who was the fairest? Now, as an adult, I believe that we’ve all at some point asked our own “magic mirror” some very important questions. Our modern-day mirrors can be anything from television to our own associates and the answer remains the same, “there is one fairer than thee.” (I think that’s how it goes). There are so many suggestions in the world that make us feel like we’re just not pretty enough, tall enough, or even curvy enough. From plastic surgeries, diet pills, and dare I say it, booty shots! Natural beauty just doesn’t cut it anymore.

Growing up, I was always told that I was beautiful, smart, and many other great things from my family. They gave me a sense of confidence, but as a I grew up and moved out my own, my confidence began to fade. I once had a good friend tell me, “you would look so much better with more make-up, and cover up those dark bags under your eyes.” Granted, I did feel prettier with more than my normal make-up, but those comments broke my spirits. Was I not enough?

I started comparing myself to other women thinking, “if only I looked more like her or had a specific feature like her.” Smiling on the outside, no one knew that on the inside I was battling with my own insecurities. I’ll be honest, I didn’t even know that I was lacking in the self-love department. Sad to say, but my self-esteem was affected by everything and everyone around me. Sounds crazy, right? Like Katt Williams says, “it’s the esteem of yourself!”

I recently attended an event where a young lady from my church spoke about confidence. She said something that actually inspired this post. “When you speak negatively about yourself, you’re talking about God. He made you in His image!” Think about it, God made you for a purpose and it is not to please any one but Him. You have to dig deep and find your self-love, look in that mirror and answer your own question. You are the most beautiful, the smartest, and the most loving person because He made you that way!

One more thing, let’s be careful in the way we speak to each other. Take time to build up someone else, words can either hurt or help us!

20130917-135900.jpg
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic License.

